How Many Episodes in Tokyo Ghoul


Tokyo Ghoul, a dark and captivating anime series adapted from Sui Ishida’s manga, has enthralled audiences with its rich storyline, complex characters, and visceral action sequences. As fans immerse themselves in the twisted world of ghouls and humans, many wonder about the total number of episodes in the series. In this article, we embark on a journey to uncover the complete episode count of Tokyo Ghoul, exploring its main series, sequels, and spin-offs.

I. The Original Series: Tokyo Ghoul

The original Tokyo Ghoul series comprises a total of 12 episodes in its first season. Aired from July to September 2014, the first season introduces viewers to the protagonist, Ken Kaneki, and his harrowing transformation into a half-ghoul after a chance encounter with a ghoul named Rize Kamishiro. The season follows Kaneki’s struggles to navigate the treacherous world of ghouls and humans while coming to terms with his newfound identity.

II. Continuing the Saga: Tokyo Ghoul √A

Following the success of the first season, Tokyo Ghoul returned with a second season titled Tokyo Ghoul √A, which also consists of 12 episodes. Airing from January to March 2015, the second season diverges from the original manga storyline, presenting an alternate narrative arc that explores the internal conflicts within the CCG (Commission of Counter Ghoul) and the ghouls of Anteiku. Tokyo Ghoul √A delves deeper into the moral ambiguity of its characters and the complexities of their relationships.

III. Tokyo Ghoul:re

Tokyo Ghoul:re serves as the sequel to the original Tokyo Ghoul series, continuing the saga with a total of 24 episodes across two seasons. The first season, Tokyo Ghoul:re, Part 1, comprises 12 episodes and aired from April to June 2018. It introduces a new cast of characters, including Haise Sasaki, a member of the CCG with a mysterious connection to Kaneki. The second season, Tokyo Ghoul:re, Part 2, also consists of 12 episodes and aired from October to December 2018, concluding the Tokyo Ghoul storyline.

IV. Exploring Spin-offs and OVAs

In addition to the main series, Tokyo Ghoul features several spin-offs and original video animations (OVAs) that expand upon the lore of the franchise. These include Tokyo Ghoul: Jack, a two-episode OVA focusing on the backstory of Kishou Arima and Taishi Fura, and Tokyo Ghoul: Pinto, a single-episode OVA centered around the character Shuu Tsukiyama. These spin-offs offer fans deeper insights into the world of Tokyo Ghoul and its enigmatic characters.

V. Conclusion: Embarking on a Dark Journey

In conclusion, Tokyo Ghoul offers viewers a captivating and immersive journey into a dark and supernatural world fraught with danger and intrigue. With a total of 12 episodes in its first season, 12 episodes in its second season, and 24 episodes across two seasons of Tokyo Ghoul:re, the series delivers a rich and multifaceted narrative that explores themes of identity, morality, and the nature of humanity. Coupled with spin-offs and OVAs, Tokyo Ghoul offers fans an extensive and immersive viewing experience that continues to captivate audiences worldwide.